A Sustainable Balance

Since I took the Process Pledge a few days ago, I’ve been stretching myself in several directions at once – something I found initially a bit disconcerting because I was worried about not getting anything done, that is finished.

What happened instead was that I expanded.

This expansion allowed me to review this (almost) month of blogging and to evaluate what I liked or not liked about the process.

What I do/did not like was that I was in a constant state of “running after” the next blog post. I never came close enough, time wise, to prepare some posts in advance (which would have made me more independent of internet problems), nor to post examples of projects.

That lead to another insight: As much as I like (on a whole, not counting what went wrong) the way the tutorials turned out and despite the fact that I learned how to do them more efficiently, they took so much time that there wasn’t much left for projects, that is for designing and making things.

Still, this experiment of starting a blog with a one month workshop was worth it, as it helped me realize what I can do – but also what I’d rather do, and how I might strike a sustainable balance between both.

Stress – even when what I’m doing is interesting and worth while the effort – is not sustainable.

What do you think?

Maria

PS: The remaining posts of the Double-faced Hexie Hexalong are in the queue šŸ™‚

7 thoughts on “A Sustainable Balance

    1. Oh I’m sorry – did it really come across like that??

      What I tried to say was only that I discovered I had to let go of some parts (or modify them) so I could make room for others which have been totally neglected šŸ™‚

      Anyway, December is creative play time. The blog will likely be a colourful mix of bits and pieces which I collect and post as I make my gifts. Let’s see what comes of that.

      Thanks, Robin ā¤

  1. Whenever I start something new that I know will be hard, I make sure I give myself time to get past the learning curve before I evaluate it. For some things that’s just days. For some it’s months. And for some it can be a year or more. Nursing my first born … I made myself continue for 3 months before I made a decision to continue or quit. Glad I did or I would have quit at 2 weeks. Homeschooling was 18 months. Glad I did or I would have quit at 3 months. Blogging? Give yourself at LEAST 6 months to work it in, smooth out those rough spots and figure out what exactly and how much works for you and your life.

    On a (hopefully) encouraging note … I personally think you are off to a great start with a viewpoint that I don’t see on other blogs. Getting all it all done that we want to do is hard. You have a cool method to accomplish that goal. One I had never thought of. I’m excited to start on my 30 days (although for me it will be 2.5 months because my end date will be the middle of March) and will devote time to my planning after I finish quilting the next two very important quilts. Will let you know how it goes.

    1. Your feedback is very encouraging – I appreciate it very much šŸ™‚ Also, I like to see how other people tackle similar challenges, there’s always something to learn. Kudos to your persistence…

      I’m not thinking of quitting at all šŸ™‚ It was a try, and what I found is that – if there’s a choice – I prefer my method of “guided improvisation” (making, writing, sorting on the go, like in the calender) to jumping into a larger project just based on an outline, without knowing whether my expectations/plans are realistic or not (= what you perhaps mean by “getting past the learning curve”).

      Probably I wanted to commit to a larger project because I can get impatient while waiting for small puzzle pieces to come together and the whole picture to appear. Perhaps that’s why I’ve never done a bed-sized quilt…

      You mention blogging – do you have a blog?

  2. Thank you, Robin šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚ – I love your comparison with rocks and jars!

    When I started, I knew it wouldn’t be easy, but I thought, oh, it’s only a month, and there’s not too much else going on.

    I didn’t expect to run out of inner fuel after three weeks, but it turned out that I woke up thinking “blog” and went to bed thinking “blog”. I don’t think this rock was bigger than the jar, but it was an awkward size, and some of the corners had to be smoothened šŸ˜‰

    These past few days of doing something different (although very much related to the blog) was a necessary breather. Perhaps I’m becoming more of a smooth pebble person – wouldn’t mind it šŸ™‚

  3. I agree. Sometimes you can’t sustain the effort. That doesn’t mean it’s not worth doing, just you can’t maintain the level of effort. I tell myself, “I can do anything for a short amount of time … if I know there is an end.” In other words, I can quilt non-stop for 4-5 days if needed to get an important project done and it is a rock in my jar vs a pebble. I have a jar of time. If I want to put the rocks in, I have to put them in FIRST otherwise they will not fit in.

i appreciate your feedback and input!

