How do you feel about quilting patterns or designs without instructions?

The reason I’m asking is that a couple of months ago I had to make a very difficult decision.

The question was: How can I make a living doing what I love?

You all know that I love textiles, especially quilting and embroidery – well, I can’t do without stitching. 🙂

And I also love drawing and designing patterns.

Since the Small Product Lab last summer, I had been thinking about selling quilting patterns with step-by-step instructions. I recycled a few old ones and drew a few new and started sketching and outlining illustrated tutorials.

But for some strange reason none of these got finished. It was only after giving myself a mental break around Christmas that I discovered why I was procrastinating with what I believed was exactly what I wanted: It was way more than I could handle time-wise.

Considering that ideas and images keep popping into my mind all the time, turning a design into a pattern was a frustratingly slow process, and working out, writing and illustrating the instructions the way I want to slows it down even more.

So although this idea got a “love it” on my evaluation chart, it got an “insufficient” in the category Making a Living. I was about to give up, including this blog.

Anyway, the word art tutorial I created for the Small Product Lab had also got me re-started on pen & ink drawings, and after designing some Colouring Cards for adult friends, I saw a new door opening.

I didn’t need to abandon this blog at all, just as I wouldn’t give up stitching, so…

the difficult decision I made was to consider All Things Textile – including this blog – a hobby, with no pressure, no planned schedule, and no aspirations…just for joy and fun.

minibooks5

My website World of Magnifica (Printables for Colouring Pages and Tangles, eCards, Tips & More) went live about a month ago and my days are getting into a new rhythm. I also know by now that I will have time to maintain this blog with occasional posts and patterns. 🙂

What I don’t know, though, is: Are you interested in quilting patterns and designs without detailed instructions?

I’m thinking of patterns and templates and perhaps an outline of the order of piecing, but no pictures of the quilted project or the process, nor indications of size/measurements or how much fabric you’ll need – they’d be up to you.

What do you think? Please comment – I’d love to hear how you feel about this.

Maria

PS: These are a few colouring examples from the Mini Colouring Book “Patterns for Tumbling Blocks”. You can download it from Gumroad.

And by the way: I’m more active on the Quilting Oneness Facebook Community Page – and a World of Magnifica Community Page also exists. Perhaps see you there?

2 thoughts on “How do you feel about quilting patterns or designs without instructions?

  1. At the very minimum you need a photo of the project to garner the interest of quilters. There are a few experienced quilters who could work their way through a pattern without photos or fabric requirements etc. Most, however, need step by step instructions fully illustrated.

    1. Thanks, Joy!

      Instead of the photo I was thinking of a drawing of the quilt.

      Alternatively, I’d design a block (with piecing order, measurements and approximate fabric requirements per blocks) and assemble photo mock-ups for larger projects.

      And I know some great tutorials by others that I could link to rather than creating my own.

      Do you think that might work?

      Maria

i appreciate your feedback and input!

